Driving home from my ladies small group last week, I turned on the radio and my attention was immediately grabbed by Dr. Tony Evans saying: ” Many a man here is discouraged from taking his rightful role, because he’s sleeping with the enemy.” It took me a minute to grasp that the “enemy” Dr. Evans was referring to was the man’s wife! I don’t know about you, but I don’t many preachers who could get away with that (or have the courage to try!) Sometimes we are so accustomed to hearing certain passages that we kind of tune them out unless the pastor says something shocking that commands our attention. That quote did it for me, so I listened to both of the messages the next day(which I will link at the end), and gleaned some great insights which I want to share with you today.

In Ephesians 5:33 Paul writes: ” However, let each one of you love his wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.”  Dr. Evans says that: ” Without respect, men shrivel up and die…… it is our greatest need and highest motivator to do a better job of caring for you.” He points out from this passage that respect for one’s husband is not optional, just like his loving you as his wife is not optional. We are to not to wait until we think our husband’s have earned our respect. We are to respect them now because Scripture commands obedience in this area. As a Christian woman, does this sound foreign to you? If so, I’ll leave you with one more quote from Dr. Evans : ” Many women are learning their roles in the home from the wrong sources: too much TV, or too many girlfriends…… they are picking up their data from everybody but God.” I hope you’ll take the time to listen to at least one these sermons. He also answers questions about tough issues, such as being married to an unbeliever. Let’s all ask God for grace to respect our husbands, even when we don’t feel like it!

First Sermon

Second Sermon                      

