Fellow Church Planter Jim Powell writes:

Weak Christian?  That I am, but my friends call me Jim.  Actually, the rhetorical question should read, ‘Strong Christian?!?!’  Is there is even such a thing?  There is not.   “For he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’  Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”   – 2 Corinthians 12:9

Sometimes when there is a misunderstanding between two people I have been known to say, “Say what you mean and mean what you say.” When we describe others as “strong Christians” (certainly we would never describe ourselves this way), we may not mean something that contradicts what our brother Jim has stated on his blog. You may even respond, “But I didn’t mean it that way.” No matter, words have meaning. What kind of message are we sending to the unsaved in our community when we use lingo such as “strong Christian?” What kind of message are we sending to Christians immature in their faith and are not well grounded in the Scriptures? “Ah”, you say, “see, someone who is grounded is strong.” Are they? Is being a mature Christian the same things are being a strong Christian? I would say not. A toddler may not be as mature as a teenager, but he may be very strong. An adult may be mature, but weak physically or in some other way. Maturity is not the same thing as strength. Our strength as Christians depends on our weakness because this is where God’s strength is displayed. If we are going to reach our culture with the gospel, it is imperative that we see ourselves as we really are…as weak Christians. 

